200 Pages !

Posted: September 16, 2010 in Books, Writing

You know how it is, one minute you think you have lost the will to live, the next you are writing so fast that your brain cant catch up. Well, thats happened to me this week.

I sometimes lose myself in my writing, to a point at which all outside influences disapear and the universe becomes centered around my keyboard. Its just one of those things that sometimes happens to me when I write. Something just clicks and all of a sudden the half baked ideas and thoughts that I have been throwing around my brain suddenly make sense. At least they do at the time. The reality of the situation is somewhat different.

My brain never seems to settle. I sleep two or three hours a night for weeks on end, so writing is just another tool I use to slow my brain down to the point at which it shouts – GO TO SLEEP! Well, when you are this tired, sometimes the best story arc in the world fails to inspire. More often than this occurance, is the one where you get what seems a great story idea, write pages and pages of material and awake the next morning to find that none of it makes any sense.

This week, this happened a few times. However, the greatness of this technique is that it sets the plot lines, the weird occurances and the downright ugly, freaky and grotesque things in the lives of my characters. Which is lucky because if I wasn’t able to ignore reality, I would never get things done.

Leave a comment